Archive for May 11th, 2012

Oy vey, that’s a tough question

Whitney and I did a presentation at the Solomon Schechter Day School in Skokie, IL this morning. The kids were great fun, they were very curious about how Whitney does her job, and how I manage to do all the things I do without being able to see. The hour flew by quickly, and as always, I enjoyed the question-and-answer part the most. Some of my favorite questions:

  • Do Seeing Eye dogs poop on the toilet?
  • Can your dog read signs, so if a sign says “No Dogs Allowed” does your dog not go there?
  • Some dogs can understand lots of words, and some dogs can’t understand many words at all. Does your dog understand every single word we say?

The most difficult question came right at the beginning. The pre-kindergarteners and kindergartners were seated close enough to ask questions before the presentation officially began, and one wanted to know if Whitney was a boy dog or a girl dog. I told them Whitney is a girl, but when we’re out and about most people think she’s a boy dog. “Does she look like a boy, do you think?” Before the student could answer, another one piped up. “How can you tell if it’s a boy or a girl?” I’ll leave it up to you to guess how I answered that one!


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 749 other followers

Pages

May 2012
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 749 other followers

