Archive for November 2nd, 2008

My Brother’s Indecision: Read All About It in the NY Times

My brother Doug and his wife are featured in a story in today’s NY Times about undecided voters. I’m proud of my brother — he’s a smart guy and an excellent jazz musician. (You can listen to a song he wrote and performed–complete with a political reference–using the link at the bottom of this post.) I feel like we are close, but we really haven’t discussed politics lately. It wasn’t until I read today’s New York Times piece that I realized: I am related to…gasp…an undecided voter.

For weeks I’ve been wondering who these undecided voters could possibly be, what more do they need to know? And then, I read today’s Times. After getting past the part about my brother and sister-in-law, I started reading quotes from other undecideds in the story. And, okay. I was wrong. There still is something to be learned about the upcoming elections.

A Florida woman quoted in the story voted for Gore in 2000 and Carey in 2004, but said she had misgivings about Obama – she is Jewish and isn’t sure of his stance on the Middle East and Israel.

” She also worries about his “share the wealth ideas” and says that Michelle Obama comes on a little too strong. (“And someone should teach her how to dress, too.”)

Michelle Obama needs help figuring out how to dress? Who knew?! After being told I look a little like Barrack Obama’s wife, I just assumed she dresses impeccably.

So a note to Michelle: I get a lot of help from shopkeepers, friends – and Mike – in figuring out what looks good on me. Ask for advice. Trust me: people are happy to give it.

And if it’s true that Michelle Obama comes on too strong, well…you read this blog. You might say that Michelle and I have a lot more in common than looks!

Speaking of good looks, though, everyone tells me that Doug and Shelley Finke make a handsome couple. Apparently the NY Times graphic designers thought so, too – link to the article and check out the big photo of them that appears with the story.

Nearly one-and-a-half million people read the Sunday Times. And so, it’s decided. Doug and Shelley Finke are famous!

Here’s a song Doug wrote for me–and performed with his band. It was Doug’s homemade Christmas present to me in 2007. Thanks again Doug! Just click the “play” arrow/button below to start the player. You’ll hear a little musician talk before the song begins, so be patient. (For screen-reader users, hit the JAWS key and F5 key simultaneously. When prompted by Macromedia Flash player, hit “Enter.”)



Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 749 other followers

Pages

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 749 other followers

