Austin Loves Dogs, and Hanni Loves Austin

Hanni and I at the Convio Summit.Come on, Hanni!  I can’t be that boring!I guess it could be that boring…Hanni and I have stayed in plenty of hotels, but never before has a concierge offered us a gift bag…for the dog!
We’re at the Renaissance Austin Hotel – I gave a presentation about assistive technology at the Convio Summit yesterday, and tomorrow I’m giving a presentation about Hanni and Beth: Safe & Sound in the Kids Department at BookPeople. BookPeople is the largest bookstore in Texas. We all know everything is bigger in Texas, so Yikes, Book People must be a pretty big place!
But back to Hani’s goody bag. Renaissance Austin Hotel is “small dog friendly” so it keeps a stash of goody bags on hand for canine guests. Hanni is not a small dog, of course, but her Seeing Eye status gets her in everywhere. Her goody bag was perfect for one of those toy-poodle-like dogs –a fancy paper bag, slick and shiny to the touch, tied at the top with a ribbon and everything! Inside I found a Mutt Mitt for easy “pick up” and a few treats for Hanni. The treats, I was told, were made by the restaurant’s pastry chef. But that wasn’t all – she also got a squeak toy (Hanni loves squeak toys) and a teeny-tiny rawhide bone.
Needless to say, Hanni loves this hotel.
I suppose I shouldn’t have been surprised at the goody bag. Mike, Hanni and I were lucky enough to be in Austin last June, and everywhere we went that weekend people – and businesses — were friendly and welcoming to dogs. Austin-Bergstrom International Airport even has a dog park! I
was so taken by Austin’s love of dogs after that June trip that I contacted Dog Fancy Magazine to see if they’d be interested in my writing a story about it. My article about Austin will appear in the January issue of Dog Fancy – look for it on newsstands in late November.
For now, I’ll reach in that goody bag for a Mutt Mitt — time to go out with Hanni before her goodnight snack. Hope she doesn’t get too used to these homemade dog treats – I can assure you, I won’t be making these at home!

4 Responses to “Austin Loves Dogs, and Hanni Loves Austin”


  1. 1 marilee October 20, 2007 at 1:15 pm

    Wow! Hanni is living the life of a rock star now! Maybe her next book should be about her travels around the world. Austin sounds like a great place to be- anxious to hear about today’s book chat.

  2. 2 bethfinke October 20, 2007 at 3:16 pm

    Hi Mare,
    Am just checking my computer one last time before disconnecting and heading off to BookPeople. You know, it hadn’t occurred to me but you are right: Hanni *is* living the life of a rock star! You think she’ll be able to adjust to our ho-hum life back in Chicago?!
    Thanks for commenting to the Safe & Sound blog!


  1. 1 Hanni’s Favorite Airport « Safe & Sound blog Trackback on January 10, 2008 at 2:03 am
  2. 2 Lucky Dog « Safe & Sound blog Trackback on July 7, 2008 at 11:24 am

Leave a comment -- it makes us feel good to know you're reading our blog posts!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 749 other followers

Pages

October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 749 other followers

