His dream = my nightmare

Our friend Greg called yesterday and recited his new lyrics for an old Christmas standard. He came up with the parody while he was raking snow and ice off their roof in suburban Chicago and generously agreed to let me share the updated song with you blog readers. Easter is on April 20 this year – let’s hope this is one dream that doesn’t come true.

I’m Dreaming of a White Easter

by Greg Schafer

That's Greg with his and Lois' dogs Gamma and Griffin.

That’s Greg with his and Lois’ dogs Gamma and Griffin.

I’m dreaming of a white Easter,
this winter you just never know.
In a white fur bonnet,
with icicles on it,
and an easter basket full of snow.
I’m dreaming of a white Easter,
with every egg that I dye white.
May your days be merry and bright,
and may all your chocolate be white.

I’m dreaming of a white Easter,
I hope what I heard isn’t true.
The easter bunny,
thought it would be funny,
to bring groundhog jerky to you.
I’m dreaming of a white Easter,
we know Tom Skilling doesn’t lie.
There’s no doubt easter will be whiiiiite,
Just, please, not the Fourth of July.

3 Responses to “His dream = my nightmare”


  1. 1 Maria February 12, 2014 at 9:15 pm

    Very funny…but I’m with you, Beth. Let’s home Greg’s dream doesn’t come true. However, I do remember one Easter when Erica was a baby, it snowed so much that my husband went outside and made a snow Easter Bunny for her. That was 35 years ago!

  2. 2 mknezo2014 February 13, 2014 at 11:12 am

    I think the most telling line is “he was raking snow and ice off their roof.” Good luck out on the East Coast today.

  3. 3 Carla February 13, 2014 at 1:44 pm

    My nightmare also!!!!!!!! Hunkering down for a nor’easter’ that’s going to dump rain, sleet and 8-12 inches of snow here tonight into tomorrow. So white Easter? No, God, pleeeeze!!!!!


Leave a comment -- it makes us feel good to know you're reading our blog posts!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 782 other followers

February 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
2425262728  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 782 other followers

